What do you say when you are not?

It’s Thursday, my normal day to remember to be vigilant in my attitude of gratitude and yet here I sit, and I am not.  I am not grateful, I am not thankful or insightful into the blessings I have been given.  I feel kicked and abused, used, tossed away and hoping the next thing into the refuse bin isn’t a half-finished hot coffee. 

So what do you do?  How do you overcome?  In many ways it’s a lot like I have found writing to be.  It is an exercise in perseverance.  It’s a matter of keeping going even if it’s less than your best, knowing that the opportunity to do better is in there somewhere.  Just like crappy first drafts, crappy days are the building blocks of something better.  They are the measure of what better is, by knowing what it is not.  They become the floor upon which you stand up, dust yourself off, and eventually – even if timidly, open your wings and hope for wind.  They are the days you practice the ‘ole college try mentality of fake it ’til you make it.

With that, and a smile I plastered on (after checking the mirror to make sure it didn’t look like I was going to eat children), I am thankful for today as it means the road ahead has more opportunities to be better than today than chances to be worse.

5 Comments

Filed under Ramblings, writing

5 responses to “What do you say when you are not?

  1. “Praise the bridge that carried you over.” Yep these days are just bridges to a better place…

  2. I know where you’re coming from! I have felt like someone flushed the toilet on me and I’ve been spinning for a year now, hoping I didn’t get sucked down while trying to hop onto a safe ledge! Sometimes I think all that is required is to keep putting one foot in front of the other. Tomorrow will be a better day forcing, Abyrne!!

Leave a Reply

